Posted on

Tragedy Before the New Year

image

Yesterday will be a shadow that we can remember every moment.
Today it is a struggle that can not be stopped.
And tomorrow will be a victory to be achieved!

The history and future are two things that can not be separated. I was very surprised to hear the news on Sunday morning, December 28, 2014. Why every year there is always a tragedy in my country? Exactly ten years ago a very powerful tsunami hit Aceh, December 26, 2004. I still remember that day, it was on Sunday. So many victims of more than 100,000 people dead and missing due to the waves. And a few years ago, Senopati Kencana, a passenger ship sank in the Java Sea because of an unbalanced load. Right in the month of December and on Sunday! About two days ago, a new tragedy came over. This is the first time AirAsia had an accident in the emerald islands, Indonesia. The previous track record, AirAsia is one of the best public air transportation in Indonesia has been ever. Service of flight attendants must be the best as well, because they often entertain passengers during flight. Some stewards often makes them laugh and enjoy a dull moment to be enjoyable.

Since my sister was a flight attendant  I may thank God that He saved her from this accident because fortunately she was not working for the airline. My family and I always worried about her. Where she flew with the crew cabin has always been a big question in our minds, hoping her journey is always safe and controlled. But I continue to feel so sad and so sorry for the accident AirAsia. Approximately at 05.36 Sunday morning flight (AirAsia QZ8501) tried to fly from Juanda airport in Surabaya to the destination, Singapore. The pilot still communicated with the operator in the past for 45 minutes before Captain Irianto (pilot) requesting permission to avoid large cumulo-nimbuzz at an altitude of 32,000 feet. But at 06.17 operators lost contact with him. The aircraft must land at 08.30 in Singapore or 7:30 (Indonesian time). On the contrary until a certain time, the plane did not land at all. In the midday, the mass media issued if the aircraft was lost and it was predicted that probably had been fallen somewhere.

BASARNAS (rescuers) tries to explore where the communication between the pilots and operators who had been disconnected. It was exactly at Karimata strait, between Belitung and Borneo island. After 2 days of searching for the team finally found a lot of bodies, luggage, emergency exits, and other goods in Kumai Bay, Central Kalimantan Province, not far from the strait Karimata. BASARNAS confirmed if all these items are part of the AirAsia craft that may be lost. More than 150 passengers on the plane, about 16 of them are children and infants. Wind, waves, rain, and fog completely disrupt the evacuation. I could not hold back the tears I saw the news on TV. The passengers relatives were hysteric when they get their family members were found dead. I asked myself why there is always a tragedy at the end of the year in my country? Tsunamis, floods, volcanic eruptions, the collapse of the soil, they often occur at the end of each year. And now it is completely with a plane crash. And it is precisely on Sunday last week of December as another tragedy before.

I remember 2 Indonesian people sad song: “Kisah Sedih di Hari Minggu” (Sad Story on Sunday) and “Desember Kelabu” (Gray December). Although both love songs but the title indicates the suffering going on in Indonesia. A big question in my mind now is “Are they related to the annual tragedy in Indonesia?” Well, I did not expect! Today is the last day of the year. The sun does not rise at all throughout the day. The rain has been falling since morning as if to indicate that the Indonesian people are in a deep sadness. People cry for those who died in the tragedy. And in a few hours it will be a new year. Will the sun rise tomorrow? We are waiting.

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2015!
Hope you out there are in a happy and joyful moments. GBU.

About Sugih

I'm just an ordinary people

6 responses to “Tragedy Before the New Year

  1. Thank you for providing commentary on this. It is good to hear that your sister is well. I often have that thought when something awful like this happens, if someone I know is in that situation. I am sorry to hear of the AirAsia incident. I remember the Tsunamis as well. May Year 2015 be a better one for your country. I look forward to reading more from you, and thank you for dropping by. 🙂

    • Thank you for your sympathy and empathy. I really appreciate it. I am grateful to my sister survived. The plane that crashed it has been found by rescuers. But they have difficulty in evacuating the victims. Hopefully, everything will run smoothly. Not to forget, I want to thank you for your visit to my blog. And happy new year. We wish success always follow you. Best regard,

      SUGIH

  2. What a blessing your sister was not working…such a tragedy indeed and I wish you, your family and your country a safer and happy new year. Thanks so much for visiting my blog, Oliana

    • Thank you for your sympathy and empathy. I really appreciate it. I am grateful to God my younger sister survived. The plane that crashed it has been found by rescuers. But they have difficulty in evacuating the victims. Hopefully, everything will run smoothly. Not to forget, I want to thank you for your visit to my blog. And happy new year. I wish success always follow you. My best regard.

      SUGIH

  3. Dony ⋅

    Ngeri ya rekaman blackboxnya itu. Pilotnya teriak2 Allahu akbar… Allahu akbar…

Leave a Reply

