Posted on

Being A Teacher was My Decision

This was my experience when I became a teacher for the first time.

It was my graduation from my high school. I was confused, whether I would continue my study to university or not. Because my mother was single parent, and was out of my city, Bogor city, at the time my mother had been in Borneo island for months. Although actually I got lots of scholarship to Japan university, but I decided to follow my mother to Borneo island. Why I followed my mother? Because since going to Borneo island I never got issue from her. I worried her if something had been happened to her. My mother could not contact me because there was no public telephone service. She must go to the city first to find public telephone service. Meanwhile the distance from her village to the city was very far away and needed much cost.

So I across the sea by ship to Borneo island. I thought it was my first cruise leaving Java island. FYI the distance between Java island to Borneo island is approximately more than 1.000 km. It took 18-22 hours on ship. No longer after that, to my surprise Borneo island is still an area that does not forward. There are still many jungles, big rivers, and wild life. I couldn't see many buildings like in the cities. The roads were still ground. There's so uncrowded of inhabitants. The houses are much made of woods. People especially the Dayak tribe are going everywhere barefoot and on foot. They bring a Wicker basket being Tied up in the head. I said to myself, "It should be heavy, bringing things in the wicked basket on the head. Don't they feel dizzy after that?" But the fact they never felt what I thought should be the risk.

I was so upset knowing that I could not enjoy electrics during morning to evening. The electric facilities were available only on evening until the midnight from 5 pm until 12 am. How sad I was! I could not watch tv in the midday. There were also no daily newspapers, no public transportation, no pub, no cinemas, no stadium, so boring for me as I was a citizen who liked enjoying many facilities completely.

Added my sadness, I could not eat my favorite foods. Because here difficult to get. As there were no public transportation. People could travel to the cities as if they had personal vehicles such as motorcycles. So what our family ate just tofu, tempe, fish, and cassava leaves. Don't hope can eat sausage, beef, cheese, hamburger, pizza, they were difficult to find!

What made me sadder was the prices of things were so expansive, 2 or 3 times more expansive than the prices in Java island. But, it's suitable with the lower cost of labors salary. And jobs are easy to get. We can work everything along we like it.

One day, when my little cousin received school report, I saw that there was no English subject point. I asked my cousin, "Do you learn English at school?" Then he replied "There's no English teacher in our school! Nobody can speak English here, so who will teach us English?"

Listen to his answer, my heart felt kind like injured. How lucky I was! Since toddler I had been living in the city. I got all I needed. I enjoyed all the facilities in the city. But here in Borneo island, I realized if I were luckier than the people. I know English-Japanese-Korean-Italian, but they don't. I had tasted hamburger, sausage, pizza, but they never! I had got on bus-train but they hadn't. Lastly I had visited such tourism objects and still they hadn't!

My heart was called out, a whisper said to my mind "I should help them, they are Indonesian young generation, they are national asset!" So, I came to the headmaster house to purpose a job as an English teacher. He welcomed me as well. Since then I became a teacher of elementary school. My age was just 18 years old, and I never attended university before. But because of my heart, I wanted to help my cousins, I didn't care if my education was not qualified. Luckily the government didn't think about it.
To be a teacher was my dream when I was a student second grade of primary school. At the moment my teacher asked each her students one by one about their aim. When it turned on me, actually I was confused, I hadn't decided what I wanted to be! Unthought I answered if I wanted to be a teacher like her. She smiled familiarly and said to me gave a spirit, "Reach what you want!"

I felt very glad when everybody called me as 'teacher' and I didn't realize at all if I was very young and my age was just 18 years old.

Besides teaching at school I also opened a course at home. It was my first business and project. I thought that education for children could be my prosperous business.

Since my coming the students became happier than before because they learned new thing in their life. Even they learned the world out of Borneo island and abroad. Their knowledge increase.

In Java island there are many people become jobless in the city. Whereas they have been graduated from university. I wonder if only they would like to leave Java island for Borneo island, surely they would have a better life for their future. They will get jobs, and the children in Borneo will get more knowledges completely. So they can develop our country to be more developed country!

Up until now I have been still a teacher. I love my profession as my heart can not leave it. Unrealized some of my students now have become teachers too. And I proud of them. When I saw them that they have been succeed, I realized one thing again that : "Oh, actually I'm getting older! Why I always felt that I was still young?"

Love my schools where I had worked in :

1. Bangun Jaya Primary School (since 2004-present)
2. Natai Kondang Primary School (2004-2005)
3. Balai Riam Senior High School (since 2005-present)
4. PGRI Balai Riam Junior High School (2010-2012)
5. Balai Riam Junior Boarding School (2010)
6. Pelita Cemerlang Primary School (2010)

About Sugih

I'm just an ordinary people

85 responses to “Being A Teacher was My Decision

  1. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Sushant, deeply sorry for my mistake. I thought you are a girl. Because your name is female name here in Indonesia.

  2. sushantgb ⋅

    No problem! It happens. :-D. Thanks 4 ur complement again.

  3. sushantgb ⋅

    The girl name would be "SUSAN", my friends use this as fun nick name.:-DMy name is Sushant. Where 'a' has bold tone ' ã '. Means Su: 'GOOD/NICE' shant: 'CALM', total means a good calm person.

  4. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    I know it. Many Indonesian people who use the name Su is taken from the Sanskrit language. Although my name beginning with su, but my name was not beheaded for su and GIH, but rather a unity sugih which means rich.You are very calm and nice person. Glad to be your friend 🙂

  5. sushantgb ⋅

    Oh! That's so nice of u. I feel proud to be ur friend. U r Sugih(rich) of humanity, friendship n devotion to profession.;-)

  6. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Amen. It's my mother who gave me name in order to make it real. It's her hope. Very kind of you, I'm just an ordinary people. 🙂

  7. sushantgb ⋅

    u r extraordinary for ur mom. She would feel proud to have such a great son.:-Dmy name is given by my father n my aunty together. Main name is by father i.e. Sushant n other one is family mix.:-)

  8. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    So, your name was a pray of your big family. Wonderful.

  9. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Well, Sushant I'm deeply sorry I'm not feeling well. Maybe I will not come online for a while until my health gets better. See you next time.

  10. sushantgb ⋅

    Ya! Somehow. 😀

  11. sushantgb ⋅

    Oh! Sorry!:-( Get well soon:-). Hope god cure u immediately.

  12. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Thank you very much. I go offline now.

  13. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Good evening Selvia, how are you doing today? :)You are my great friend.

  14. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Good evening Selvia, how are you doing today? 🙂

  15. scyther09 ⋅

    great teacher!

  16. scyther09 ⋅

    i'm good.i'm at work right now 🙂 thank you.you are really a nice person.your story.so nice.been inspired.i also know other teachers at my country doing the same thing as you.they are being featured in news and sometimes received awards.good deed 🙂

  17. scyther09 ⋅

    🙂 that's just what i see in you hey sugih i added you on facebook 'bem lagarde'i'll be glad if you'll accept my request 🙂

  18. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    You judge me redundant and overly praised. I am an ordinary person. Thank you for reading all my notes.Well good lucky in your job.

  19. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    I will confirm your request when I open it. Thanks for your add anyway.

  20. scyther09 ⋅

    🙂 that's just what i see in you hey sugih i added you on facebook 'bem lagarde'i'll be glad if you'll accept my request 🙂

  21. mhentgab89 ⋅

    Gud afternun guys…How are u all??

  22. scyther09 ⋅

    you are now my friend on facebook 🙂

  23. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Gab, not better. Thank you. I guess you're very well, hope so. Selvia, welcome to my fb :)All, I would like to know what is the traditional medicine that's used in your country for malaria?I got malaria because It was a week ago I went camping in the jungle. Unluckily there were so many mosquitoes came out from inside the jungle. They bite me crazily.

  24. scyther09 ⋅

    hey that's quite serious sugih.you should see a doctor.you really shouldget well soon

  25. scyther09 ⋅

    please see a doctor and take prescribed medicine.don't consider traditional medicine.malaria is a serious matter sugih

  26. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    I have seen doctor. She gave me many medicines. Somehow I still feel very heavy headache. For me personally medical herbals are very helpful. If I drink both traditional and medicines from the doctor will accelerate my recovery.

  27. scyther09 ⋅

    oh i see.good.get well soon

  28. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Thanks for your attention 🙂

  29. scyther09 ⋅

    concerned friend here 🙂

  30. mhentgab89 ⋅

    Yes sugih im fine…. Oh its serious.illness.In your condition now sugih..i suggest that u must be confine into the hospital…so that the doctor can look over ur condition from time to time..Mhnn.drink apple or grapes juice..sugih..it really helps u a lot..

  31. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    I have bought apples, and will make juice tonight before going to bed.

  32. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Hospital? I'll think about it 1000x.Doctors in Indonesia rarely pay attention their patients. Even recently they have malpractices in their hospitals. That's why I decide to take the alternative way.

  33. mhentgab89 ⋅

    Ahh…Well thats good sugih..hope u will get fine soon..

  34. HidingPrinceOfBorneo ⋅

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

